27 January 2018

"One Year", Tom's first release under his own name in several years, will be officially released on February 7th (Ozella Music), and we are looking forwards so much to this music being out there! Featuring UK pianist Richard Fairhurst and Finnish percussionist Markku Ounaskari, vinyl and CDs are already available, artist-direct, from the Shop section of this website. Concerts are coming soon in the UK and Germany, and aside from all this, Tom is extremely excited to be beginning a new chapter at the Hochschule der Künste, Bern, as artistic leader of the Jazz and Contemporary Music department. Hoping to see you out and about soon!

23 November 2017

Delighted to announce that from February 2018, Tom will be Artistic Leader of the Jazz Department at Bern University of the Arts, Switzerland. Looking forward to deep and fantastic collaborations with all inspiring students and educators of the HKB, and very touched to follow in the footsteps of Valérie Portmann and to be so warmly welcomed into such a bright and forward-looking community of artists, educators and researchers. To the future...!

14 November 2017

Exclusive pre-release CD copies of One Year are here, alive and well, and available in the shop on this website! Featuring British pianist Richard Fairhurst and Finnish percussionist Markku Ounaskari, we are immensely proud of this music and extremely happy to bring this project to fruition. UK dates for March and May 2018 will be posted soon and excerpts from the first track, Evergreens, are already to be heard in the player above. We hope you enjoy the music. For vinyl-addicts... it's coming...!


21 October 2017

A new video just in from Tom's duo concert with great Finnish pianist Kari Ikonen in Turku, Finland... just a couple of weeks ago. We enjoyed this a lot... Do take a watch and a listen here, (links to Youtube) and follow the channel if you are moved to do so!


8 September 2017

Well, welcome to Autumn!
The release of One Year is getting ever-closer and we are super happy for that... the first concert of the trio in Berlin was a truly beautiful experience and we are looking forward to more. In the meantime though, some more solo concerts in special locations in Berlin and Brussels, a Finnish tour and radio recording with pianist Kari Ikonen, and the continuation of turntablist and composer Ignaz Schick's Circuit Training ensemble - new compositions (including one by Tom) with some of Berlin's finest improvisers and real-time composers. Looking forward to seeing you there and thanks for stopping by!

25 June 2017

A new wave of solo concerts for the Summer are up-and-coming - also the beginnings of 'Augmented Nature', a project of solo recordings in nature. We are preparing One Year (with Markku Ounaskari and Richard Fairhurst) for release on the excellent German label Ozella, and QUAIRÓS (with Miles Perkin, Markus Pesonen and Janne Tuomi) on Jazzwerkstatt Berlin. Tom will be close to New York in August for a residency at the prestigious Music OMI programme. Looking forward to seeing you out there!

10 January 2017

Welcome and best wishes for 2017!
Opening the year with a guest appearance on Julie Sassoon's album Four Tune and many other exciting plans - including Tom's first release under his own name since Postcards from Pushkin, coming soon with Richard Fairhurst (piano) and Markku Ounaskari (percussion). A collaborative improvised release from QUAIRÓS, a Berlin-Finnish quartet with Miles Perkin (bass), Markus Pesonen (guitar) and Janne Tuomi (drums) is also in the works, as is Berlin-based singer and composer Almut Kühne's Inbetween Skies. Looking forwards!

19 October 2016

New in the player is 'Irina Piperin' - a Calvino-inspired track from Vaucanson's Muse with electronic musician Isambard Khroustaliov. Already described by the Wire as comparable to the classic and pioneering work of Braxton and Teitelbaum and as "a limited edition to catch if you can", this release is joined by Real Time Sound Sculpture Vol. 1 with another dear friend and collaborator, Simon Vincent, also out now. A month for fresh new improvised electroacoustic music. Both new releases are now available in the Shop, and check out London Jazz News for an in-depth interview with Tom about these CDs, Jazzfest Berlin and more.


31 August 2016

An action-packed Autumn awaits, with improvisational electronic releases in duos with Simon Vincent and Isambard Khroustaliov (aka Sam Britton), and concerts in Berlin, Wroclaw, Vienna and Rome. Projects include Marc Schmolling's Ticho, the Pichler Brothers, a Berlin Jazzfest collaboration between the Julia Hülsmann Quartet and Anna-Lena Schnabel and a new recording with Almut Kühne's new project Inbetween Skies. Looking forward very much and hoping to see many of you out there...

25 June 2016

Welcome to this very nice new website, thanks to Alice Cannava!
Simultaneously, Tom is very happy to announce some some new projects, which will be out and about in the coming months - one with Richard Fairhurst (piano) and Markku Ounaskari (percussion), and another with Sébastien Boisseau (bass) and Jon Fält (drums). Many older and harder-to-source albums are for sale in the new Shop, and dates until November are posted in Events. Stay in touch and watch this space....